ELECTION DAY: Polls are now closed

Voters in 162 municipalities in B.C. set to elect mayor, council, school board and more

Voters across British Columbia head to the polls on Saturday to choose a mayor, council and other leaders in local government.

Polls are open in the Tri-Port area at the following locations until 8 p.m. PT:

Port Hardy Poll location

7360 Columbia St, Port Hardy, BC V0N 2P0

Port McNeill Poll location

1775 Furney Place, Port McNeill, BC V0N 2R0

Port Alice Poll location

1061 Marine Dr, Port Alice, BC V0N 2N0

Who is running for mayor?

Hank Bood, Port Hardy

Dennis Dugas, Port Hardy

Shirley Ackland, Port McNeill

Graham MacDonald, Port McNeill

Gaby Wickstrom, Port McNeill

Kevin Cameron, Port Alice

David Steward, Port Alice

Who is running for council?

Port Hardy

Pat Corbett-Labatt

Janet Dorward

Don Kattler

Rick Marcotte

Fred Robertson

Treena Smith

John Tidbury

Leightan Wishart

Port McNeill

Ann-Marie Baron

Shelley Downey

Doug Dyment

Derek Koel

Falyn Lynch

Matt Martin

Ryan Mitchell

Port Alice

Holly Aldis

Warren Beatty

Bruce Lloyd

Ronald Reimer

Doug Worthington

Angela Yunker

For all of our stories on the municipal election, click here.

Check out our website and Facebook page for full coverage of the results starting at 8 p.m. PT.


Just Posted

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Tier 3 Bantam Championships

“The packed arena and electricity within was fantastic.”

Port Hardy RCMP issues warning about recent overdose

“Our primary concern is public safety. We are urging the public to be aware of what is circulating.”

Port Hardy RCMP looking for volunteers who are interested in public safety

“The volunteer program will include community and crime prevention programs”

Suspicious fire in Alert Bay burns two homes, spreads to nearby bush

Police say underage suspects have been identified

VIDEO: North Island Bantam Eagles tie Dawson Creek Canucks in front of massive hometown crowd in Port Hardy

The Tier 3 Bantam Championships continued in style last night at the Don Cruickshank Memorial Arena.

Stolen Bentley spotted going wrong way down highway found in Summerland

The car has been recorded going the wrong way on the Coquihalla, found two days later

Province announces $18.6 million for B.C. Search and Rescue

The funding, spread over three years, to pay for operations, equipment, and training for

Late-season wave of the flu makes its round in B.C.

BC Centre for Disease Control reported 50 per cent jump in flu cases in first weeks of March

Tofino’s housing crisis causing some to seek shelter at the local hospital

Tofino’s housing crisis is pushing the town’s ‘hidden homeless’ population into the forefront.

Sentencing judge in Broncos crash calls for carnage on highways to end

Judge Inez Cardinal sentenced Jaskirat Singh Sidhu to eight years

2 fires in Victoria caused by cigarettes prompts warning from deputy fire chief

Two separate fires caused by cigarette butts were avoidable

Wildlife activists slam B.C. business, clubs for ‘wolf-whacking’ contests

Chilcotin Guns, Creston Valley Rod and Gun Club and West Kootenay Outdoorsmen Club under fire

‘Families torn apart:’ Truck driver in fatal Broncos crash gets 8-year sentence

Judge Inez Cardinal told court in Melfort, Sask., that Sidhu’s remorse and guilty plea were mitigating factors

Vancouver Island motorists attempted CPR on victim in fatal Highway 4 crash

Collision took place west of Whiskey Creek; man in his 70s died

Most Read