Figure skaters make medal haul

Port McNeill Figure Skating Club members performed strongly in annual Lynn Hetherington Memorial competition in Duncan.

Members of the Port McNeill Figure Skating Club returned with a collection of awards from the recent Lynn Hetherington Memorial competition in Duncan.

Gazette staff

Whitney Murgatroyd took home a gold medal and Sidney Hamilton placed eighth in the preliminary women’s final to lead the Port McNeill Figure Skating Club in the annual Lynn Hetherington Memorial figure skating competition in Duncan in late January.

Alyssa Busch added a gold in Senior bronze women’s competition and Lisa Cochrane won bronze in Junior silver women’s skating during the three-day competition.

In Canskate finals, Brenna Jardine added a silver-medal showing in group 6 and Natasha Grafton was bronze in group 12.

Murgatroyd, Busch and Cochrane have qualified for the B.C. Figure Skating Championships, to be held Mar. 4-7 in Cranbrook.

The club will then host the 35th annual Barbara Rasmussen Memorial figure skating competition March 17-18 at Chilton Regional Arena. This will be the first time the competition has been held in Port McNeill, after being hosted in Courtenay for its first 34 years.

At the competition in Duncan, Murgatroyd also finished first in the bronze freeskate, and Hamilton, Kaitlyn Lasota and Darian Murgatroyd all posted top-6 showings.

2011 Lynn Hetherington Memorial

Figure Skating Competition

Jan. 28-30

At Duncan

(Port McNeill club results)

Pre-preliminary (age 9-11): 2. Lexie Murgatroyd; 7. Tyanna Laming.

Junior silver women: 3. Lisa Cochrane.

Senior bronze women: 1. Alyssa Busch; 9. Karly Dutcyvich; 10. Amy Parker.

Junior bronze 13-over: 12. Mikayla Walton.

Preliminary women 11+ qualifying (group 1): 1. Whitney Murgatroyd; 6. Sidney Hamilton; 8. Karlie Shambrook.

Preliminary women 11+ qualifying (group 2): 6. Kaitlyn Lasota; 10. Maddy Chester.

Preliminary women 11+ qualifying (group 3): 6. Darian Murgatroyd; 7. Carley Bobb; 12. Kierra Shambrook.

Preliminary women 11+ final: 1. Whitney Murgatroyd; 8. Sidney Hamilton.

Canskate group 6: 2. Brenna Jardine.

Canskate group 12: 3. Natasha Grafton.

Just Posted

People’s Party of Canada plan to have a candidate in the North Island-Powell River riding

Elections Canada formally recognized the North Island—Powell River PPC Association

NVIATS takes over NIEFS space in Thunderbird Mall

“We were approached by NIEFS, they’re going to be downsizing”

Port Hardy Reigns compete in Nanaimo at Island Championships

“We are very fortunate to have this opportunity for our youth in Port Hardy”

Derina Harvey Band – Heartfelt, Energetic, Celtic rock comes to Port Hardy

Front-woman Derina Harvey leads this Celtic-rock act, who offer an authentic east-coast experience.

OPINION: Urgent care room will cost lives

“Seniors, of any demographic, are the most vulnerable to the loss of emergency care.”

VIDEO: Driver in bizarre hit-and-run at B.C. car dealership turns herself in

Police believe alcohol was a factor in incident causing estimated $15,000 in damages

‘B.C. cannot wait for action’: Top doctor urges province to decriminalize illicit drugs

Dr. Bonnie Henry says current approach in ‘war on drugs’ has criminalized and stigmatized drug users

B.C. woman, 76, challenges alcohol-screening laws after failing to give breath sample

Norma McLeod was unable to provide a sample because of her medical conditions

New report on 2017 wildfires calls for better coordination with B.C. First Nations

Tsilhqot’in National Government documents 2017 disaster and lists 33 calls to action

B.C. youth coach banned amid sexual harassment, bullying scandal: Water Polo Canada

Justin Mitchell can’t take part in Water Polo Canada events or clubs

Wilson-Raybould: Feds want to just ‘manage the problem’ of Indigenous Peoples

Former federal justice minister speaks at First Nations Justice Council meeting in B.C.

Female real estate agents warned of suspicious man in Metro Vancouver

The man requests to see homes alone with the female agent, police say

Can you put your phone down for Mother’s Day?

#DiningMode campaign encourages people to leave the phone alone while eating

Horgan heckled as gas prices sit at record high, could go up more

Premier John Horgan blames refiners, not taxes

Most Read