Editorials

PROFILE PHOTO COURTESY OF KIMBERLEY KUFAAS PHOTOGRAPHY Tyson’s Thoughts is a column posted online at northislandgazette.com and in print on Wednesdays. Have some thoughts about my thoughts? Email editor@northislandgazette.com

Tyson’s Thoughts

My thoughts are back this week, just in time for the holiday.…

Port Hardy Chamber of Commerce logo

COMMENTARY: Our money should be spent right here at home in the North Island region

‘By purchasing from local businesses, we are casting our vote for the kind of community we want’

OPINION: Why are the provinces afraid of reducing classroom sizes for the pandemic?

OPINION: Why are the provinces afraid of reducing classroom sizes for the pandemic?

Provinces don’t want to reduce classroom sizes because parents will not be able to unsee advantages.

  • Sep 1, 2020
OPINION: Why are the provinces afraid of reducing classroom sizes for the pandemic?
North Island MLA Claire Trevena. (Claire Trevena photo)

North Island MLA Claire Trevena has a few announcements for her constituents

‘MLAs are wrapping up the third week of our summer legislative session’

  • Jul 17, 2020
North Island MLA Claire Trevena. (Claire Trevena photo)
Black Press file photo of North Island MLA Claire Trevena

North Island MLA Claire Trevena speaks on new supports available amid COVID-19 pandemic

‘the challenges of COVID-19 are having a particular impact on the most vulnerable in our province’

Black Press file photo of North Island MLA Claire Trevena
video
Hike for the cure - Dwayne Buckle
Ikak'ila: Gwa'sala-'Nakwaxda'xw elders share encouragement and advice about the COVID-19 pandemic
Wagalus Students used half their prize money to help people in need
North Island Gazette Christmas Hamper Fund 2020
North Island Gazette file photo of Port Hardy Fire Chief Brent Borg.

A message from Port Hardy Fire Chief Brent Borg

‘I can’t say enough about our professional volunteers that left it all on the fire ground’

North Island Gazette file photo of Port Hardy Fire Chief Brent Borg.
North Island MLA Claire Trevena has sent a message to her constituents before the long weekend. (Black Press file photo)

Message from North Island MLA Claire Trevena ahead of Easter weekend

‘Our government is trying to assist, whether it is with rent or financial support’

  • Apr 9, 2020
North Island MLA Claire Trevena has sent a message to her constituents before the long weekend. (Black Press file photo)
EDITORIAL: Communities have a right to know when COVID-19 arrives locally

EDITORIAL: Communities have a right to know when COVID-19 arrives locally

This week, the Comox Valley Record published two articles regarding the novel…

EDITORIAL: Communities have a right to know when COVID-19 arrives locally
Have some thoughts on the Wilderness Committee and Sierra Club BC’s opinion piece? Email editor@northislandgazette.com and we will publish online and in print.

OPINION: Environmental groups want healthy forests and communities

“We work to mobilize action on some of the most pressing issues facing our society today”

  • Feb 29, 2020
Have some thoughts on the Wilderness Committee and Sierra Club BC’s opinion piece? Email editor@northislandgazette.com and we will publish online and in print.
Have some thoughts on North Island Gazette freelancer Debra Lynn’s opinion piece? Email editor@northislandgazette.com and we will publish your side online and in print.

OPINION: Creativity is the key to survival

“if Port Alice is in the doldrums, it’s because we made it that way”

Have some thoughts on North Island Gazette freelancer Debra Lynn’s opinion piece? Email editor@northislandgazette.com and we will publish your side online and in print.
OPINION: Island Health is attempting to mislead the public

OPINION: Island Health is attempting to mislead the public

Bjarnason’s statement makes it sound like the emergency room will remain.

OPINION: Island Health is attempting to mislead the public
Joe the cat. Photo: Facebook

DeMeer: Cats and dogs are reigning – and it’s wrong

Princeton editor Andra DeMeer tackles the issue placing pets over people

Joe the cat. Photo: Facebook
Vandals spray painted the words Make S.A. Straight Again on Salmon Arm’s rainbow crosswalk on Sunday, July 29. (Photo submitted)

EDITORIAL: Vandalism shows need for rainbow crosswalk

Hateful graffiti shows Salmon Arm’s need for a symbol of inclusion

Vandals spray painted the words Make S.A. Straight Again on Salmon Arm’s rainbow crosswalk on Sunday, July 29. (Photo submitted)
Editorial: Things are about to look a little different around here

Editorial: Things are about to look a little different around here

Starting August 1, 2018, the North Island Gazette is going to have a fresh new look.

Editorial: Things are about to look a little different around here
People gather for a vigil in response to a shooting at the Capital Gazette newsroom, Friday, June 29, 2018, in front of the Maryland State House in Annapolis, Md. Prosecutors say Jarrod W. Ramos opened fire Thursday in the newsroom. (AP Photo/Patrick Semansky)

EDITORIAL: Maryland journalists killed in pursuit of truth

Five people were gunned down in the Capital Gazette newsroom

People gather for a vigil in response to a shooting at the Capital Gazette newsroom, Friday, June 29, 2018, in front of the Maryland State House in Annapolis, Md. Prosecutors say Jarrod W. Ramos opened fire Thursday in the newsroom. (AP Photo/Patrick Semansky)
EDITORIAL: American shooting hits close to home

EDITORIAL: American shooting hits close to home

Generally speaking, reports of another mass murder in the United States pass…

  • Jun 29, 2018
EDITORIAL: American shooting hits close to home
Editorial: What’s all the fuss about pot?

Editorial: What’s all the fuss about pot?

Don’t worry, be happy about pot legalization

  • Jun 26, 2018
Editorial: What’s all the fuss about pot?
WWW.KUTERRA.COM PHOTO                                Kuterra has grown and sold more than 2-million pounds of Atlantic salmon for consumers since 2013.

EDITORIAL: Land-based fish farms are growing because it’s what investors and consumers want

The ‘Namgis founded Kuterra because of concerns about the environmental effects of open netpens.

  • Jun 10, 2018
WWW.KUTERRA.COM PHOTO                                Kuterra has grown and sold more than 2-million pounds of Atlantic salmon for consumers since 2013.
Students and teachers from Rossland Summit School celebrate the opening of Rossland’s rainbow crosswalk last September. (Chelsea Novak/Rossland News)

EDITORIAL: Minority rules in our colourful culture

Quibbles over symbolic rainbow crossings belie critics’ genuine concerns

  • Jun 6, 2018
Students and teachers from Rossland Summit School celebrate the opening of Rossland’s rainbow crosswalk last September. (Chelsea Novak/Rossland News)